Walking In Her Shoes..

30 Jan

“Dont judge a man until you have walked a mile in his shoes.”

Basically, dont pass judgement on someone until you have gone through what they have gone through.  Recently I have taken on a project that has forced me to see from my own point of view, as well as two others.  Without giving too much away, I’ll let you in on what I have learned so far.

I can be harsh!  When I was younger my greatest enemy was my own Mother. She made decisions that I didn’t agree with at all, and I blamed her relentlessly for the effect those choices had on me.  I have held onto that hate for a long time, no matter how much I try to convince myself that I have grown up into adulthood, and have let everything from the past fall to the waistline.  I have been spending a lot of time giving myself a lot of credit.

In reference to my post a few days ago, 50 Things:Trust, I can’t fully forgive her until I can look her in the eye and see her for who she is, and not who she used to be.  I havent been able to do that yet.  Talk about not practicing what you preach!  How can I possibly understand the reasoning behind her choices?  I have yet to find myself in similar situations, and who am I to say I wouldn’t do the exact same things that she did.

Who have you had a hard time understanding?  Is it possible to think for even a few moments, what your choices would be in their situation, and what the repercussions would be of the changes.  Walk for a few moments in that persons shoes, and try your hardest to understand why they are who they are, and why they do what they do.

People are naturally sinful, but not cruel.  We all make mistakes, but nobody means to make mistakes to wrong other people.  And we all hurt people sometimes, but it’s never our first intention to break someone elses spirit, is it?

Dear God, 

Help me to understand the people who I have yet to take the time to understand.  Help me to be less harsh, and live a life in your heart.

XO

Katelyn

One Response to “Walking In Her Shoes..”

  1. jennifer January 30, 2012 at 9:27 pm #

    I think a lot of us are guilty of this! I know I am! When of my constant is prayers is that God will help to not judge others, and to not hold onto bitterness! I hate being like that!

Leave a Reply

