She Opens Her Eyes to New Ideas…

20 Jan

I was walking through JC Penney the other day with my toddler, and by walking, I mean being dragged through JC Penney BY my toddler.  As we were walking past the make up counter, I heard a teenage girl asking one of the Make-up techs about eye liner.  “No matter what I do, my eyes keep looking smaller, what am I doing wrong?!?!?!”  The make-up tech, while looking concerned and understanding, told her to come this way, and I will show you some new products we just got in….

In high school, this annoyed me to the high heavens.  Girls would line their eyes in thick, black kohl liner, and wonder why their eyes looked non-existent.  My Mom told me that make-up should enhance your natural beauty, not cover it up, and make you look like someone else.  The model above has her eyes completely lined and defined, and she looks gorgeous.  HOWEVER, sans digital touch ups, and flattering lighting, Her gorgeous green eyes are shrinking against her extreme make up.

Avoid this “I want to be a movie star, but I am just going grocery shopping” look by lining your upper lid to your liking.  The trick is either skipping your bottom lash line all together, OR by going no further towards the inner corner, than the middle of your pupil.

Though Emma stones liner does reach her inner corner on both top and bottom, the drama remains on the outer corners, and the inner corners of her eyes are left with a very thin line.

When putting on your make-up, wanting to look like the women in the magazines, remember this:  These women are selling a product to you.  The exaggerated colors lines and definition are to encourage you to buy the product. Please please PLEASE, do not wear your eye make up this way!!!  It’s distracting our eyes away from your natural beauty.

XO

Katelyn

Leave a Reply

