50 Things: Holding Hands

11 Jan

 

 

Husband hates PDA.  Since we have been in the military world, for whatever reason, public displays of affection make him nervous.  Every once in a while he will sneak a kiss if I say something sweet or funny.  Sometimes I get a like squeeze around my waist if I am nervous.  but the thing that means the most to me is when he grabs my hand.

Ever since we were little, my sister and I used hand holding as a way to communicate.  Take a look at that.  Remind me that I need to tell you something later. I really need you right now.  Without saying a word, we have entire conversations just through holding hands.

The first time I went to church by choice was when my best friend Jennifer invited me.  I went out of curiosity, but also to support her, as her husband was deployed.  When we said the prayer, I peeked over and saw that she was crying.  I reached over and held her hand, and gave her a squeeze.  I like to think it made her feel better to know someone cared enough to hold her if she needed it.  That day was the start of my wanting to be a Christian.

Hand holding doesn’t always have to be romantic!  It’s a way of communication, and telling someone you are there for them.  regardless of the looks I get, I will hold my sister’s hand through public.  After 6 years of being together, I will hold Husbands hand like we are in high school again.

 

XO

Katelyn

One night I dreamed I was walking along the beach with the Lord.
             Many scenes from my life flashed across the sky.
                  In each scene I noticed footprints in the sand.
                       Sometimes there were two sets of footprints,
                           other times there were one set of footprints.
                                  This bothered me because I noticed
                                that during the low periods of my life,
                             when I was suffering from
                         anguish, sorrow or defeat,
                     I could see only one set of footprints.
          So I said to the Lord,
      “You promised me Lord,
         that if I followed you,
             you would walk with me always.
                   But I have noticed that during
                          the most trying periods of my life
                                 there have only been one
                                       set of footprints in the sand.
                                           Why, when I needed you most,
                                          you have not been there for me?”
                                 The Lord replied,
                          “The times when you have
                  seen only one set of footprints,
          is when I carried you.”
One Response to “50 Things: Holding Hands”

  1. jennifer January 11, 2012 at 8:44 pm #

    Aww Katie! You made me all teary eyed, I remember that day! I had no idea that was the day you started wanting to be a Christian! I’m so honored that God chose to work through me to bring you to him! I’m so blessed to have you as a friend, you helped me more than you know during that time! I LOVE YOU! Ps. I love holding hands!

Leave a Reply

