Raise your voice

10 Nov

I yelled at my son last night.

Some nights are easy.  I put him down, he watches his movie for a bit, then falls asleep, tah dah. Done.

Last night was not one of those nights.  He gets a sippy cup of water before bed, and he insisted on taking it with him.  I didn’t see the harm in it, until I went to check on him.  He was purposely dumping his cup out onto his bed.

"Go on and yell at me Mom, I dare you."

Yesterday, in particular, I changed his bed three times.  It was the last straw.  I forget what exactly I said to him, but the tone was harsh, the words were unkind, and his little lower lip quivered with shame and regret.  I felt so horrible, not because I had hurt his feelings, but because I yelled so hard and loud that I was sure God heard me.

I know that at any given moment, God knows what is on my heart, what I am thinking, and what I will do.  But this one time, I knew for sure, that if he was busy with something else, his attention was averted to Jakes bedroom, where a christian mother was throwing the ways of the bible out the window.

So when you are angry, or hurt, what do you want God to hear you say?  Most worship songs say “lift your voices” “worship” “cry unto the Lord.”  They don’t say “swear at your toddlers until they cry in earth shattering fear”.

This goes for yelling at boyfriends, pets, parents, husbands, and inanimate objects.  Unless you are praising, keep the volume down to a dull roar.

XO

Katelyn

One Response to “Raise your voice”

  1. jennifer November 17, 2011 at 10:13 pm #

    Don’t worry katie, this happens to EVERY parent I’m sure! We all have bad days! Jake forgives you and won’t remember that, he will remember all the great days 🙂

Leave a Reply

