Priorities

9 Nov

I was tricked!!!

One day at one of my bible studies, we were asked to write down our top five priorities.

Naturally, I put down Husband, my son, my sister.  I wrote staying in shape, and keeping my home like a home.

Then we were asked where God ranked.  More than half of the women, myself included were ashamed that God had not been written down on the list.  Not once, not anywhere.  For others, prayer was on the list, but it was not number one.  It should be.

I felt so dumb!  I felt tricked, although honestly… we were at a bible study.  God should have been in the front part of my mind anyways.  Even then, I was thinking about Husbands lunch getting packed correctly.  At the time I was still pregnant, so I was also thinking about having to go pee REALLY badly, and whether Jake would have my eyes.

I remembered this today while in the process of making more lists, and giggled at how naive I was.  “I can’t believe God wasnt at the top of my list!!!”  Then I lowered myself into my seat, and realized: He.Still.Isnt.

There is no excuse!  God needs to be a top priority.  He gave me the ability to have priorities at all.  He gave me all of these wonderful things that I worry about on a daily basis, and he deserves more of my time.

So here is my priority list:

1. God. Prayer. Worship. Praise.

2. Dont worry about anything else.  Remember number 1, and everything else will fall into place.

XO

Katelyn

2 Responses to “Priorities”

  1. Devan Crystal Collomy November 10, 2011 at 3:33 am #

    i absolutely LOVE this post. sometimes we really do need to check ourselves and not let everyday life’s activities become the front runner of our thoughts and priorities. God is with us through all our day so we should act like it. 🙂

  2. jennifer November 17, 2011 at 10:15 pm #

    Amen Katie! I have been feeling this way a lot lately! Thank you and your friend Devan is right as well!

Leave a Reply

