50 Things: Independence

18 Oct

Two year old me:

“no, no, I do blocks.”

Four year old me:

“No Mommy, I can pour it by myself.”

Seven year old me:

“No way! I can learn to ride a bike on my own!”

Thirteen year old me:

“I don’t need boy advice, I can handle it myself!”

Sixteen year old me:

Come ON, I know what I’m doing.”

Nineteen year old me:

“I will be fine, I can be on my own now.”

Twenty-four year old me:

“Where is my mom when I need her?!?!!?!?!??”

We spend the better part of twenty years insisting that we can do things on our own.  We crave independence as children, not knowing what it really means.  When we are young, it means leave me alone!   Let me be!!  That has actually what I had always associated independence with: being by yourself.

In some cases, that’s exactly what we need.  A little breathing room from parents, and other influences.  But in all honestly, a lot of the time it just means being free to be yourself.  Independence doesn’t have to mean being alone, or secluded.  It doesn’t have to mean insisting that we don’t need help.  It can simply mean having the freedom to make choices that we are infinitely happy with!!

Truths:

  1. You are free to be who you want to be
  2. You are free to think and feel how you want to.
  3. First and foremost, you have to answer to yourself in life.  Be happy with the decisions that you make.
  4. Asking for help is not admitting defeat.
  5. And 5, nobody can tell you who to be, how to me, or what to be.  It’s up to you.

That is independence.

Leave a Reply

