50 Things: Quiet Time

15 Oct

I don’t get quiet time that often.  Between Jake needing something all the time, to Husband yelling “hey babe, have you seen my…”, my houses volume is almost always turned all the way up.

There are very few places I can go for some peace and quiet.  When Husband and I are in the car, he wants to listen to rap, I want to listen to inspirational.  Jake wants to listen to himself talk.  When we can’t come to an agreement, Husband came up with the best solution ever.  Why didn’t I think of it?! Turn.The.Radio.Off.  We sit in silence for a few minutes, all three of us.  Taking in the sounds of the car, the sun peaking through the trees onto the road, and each other.  Husband sniffles.  I clear my throat.  Even Jake starts to babble to himself at a lower decibel.  Its like suddenly we all realize how lucky we are to have each other, and we don’t even need to talk about it.  We just know it.

What is going on in your life right now that is really loud in your head.  tune it out for a bit.  turn down the volume on your worries and troubles.  Roll down the windows, and let your worries fly away with the autumn leaves.  Your peace and quiet is here, just turn down the volume so you can enjoy it.

XO

Katelyn

Leave a Reply

