Black and White Photos

17 Aug

[referring to a childlike drawing of a cow]
Katherine Watson: 25 years ago, someone thought this was brilliant.
Betty Warren: Who?
Katherine Watson: My mother. I painted it for her birthday. Next slide. This is my mom. Is it art?
Susan Delacorte: It’s a snapshot.
Katherine Watson: If I told you Ansel Adams had taken it, would that make a difference?
Betty Warren: Art isn’t art until someone says it is.
Katherine Watson: It’s art!
Betty Warren: The right people.
Betty Warren: And who are they?

Mona Lisa Smile

I thought this was a great conversation!!!  It made me believe that anything is art, as long as you think its art.

I am pretty sure that someone could take a picture of a band-aid, make it black and white, and I would say, “oooooh, ART!!!”  I feel that way about most black and white photos.  Black or white adds classiness to any space, and the beauty of no color is there is no matching necessary.

So take some pictures, make them black and white, and frame them.  It adds a little something personal to any space!

XO

Katelyn

3 Responses to “Black and White Photos”

  1. jennifer August 22, 2011 at 5:57 am #

    So true!

  2. Kristen September 8, 2011 at 12:35 am #

    I found your blog today and have been reading through the posts (love them by the way). But I saw this one and had to ask where you got that sign about children? I love it and think it would be awesome in my daughter’s room!

    • Style Pennies September 8, 2011 at 1:12 am #

      Hey Kristen,
      Thank you for your support! That Plaque used to hang in my room when I was little girl, and my Mother gave it to me when I had my son! I called after receiving your comment, and she said that she found it at a funky childrens boutique in Boston. I wish I could be more helpful!!! To be honest, it wouldnt be very hard to make!!
      Hope this helps a little bit. Subscibe your e-mail, because this gave me a great idea for a project!!
      Thanks Again
      Katelyn

Leave a Reply

