“A closed mouth gathers no feet”

8 Aug

Typical.

When I was growing up, I had a hard time understanding why it wasnt OK to be opinionated.  First, I was taught that it was a good thing to tell the truth.  Then, I was taught that saying something mean wasnt good AT ALL.  I told my mom that I was so confused about the rules.  “How come I should tell the truth…but you get really mad when I tell you that dinner was really REALLY gross…” “How come I should tell you the truth, but I can’t tell Caroline shes horrible at coloring inside the lines?!”  I crossed my arms in anger, as my mom looked at my little sister with tears streaming down her face. She broke it down for me:

Is it kind?

No, not really….

Is it true?

YES, but….

Is it necessary?

No, probably not…

Katelyn, it needs to follow ALL three of these rules before it comes out of your mouth. 

Caroline and I

We should all remember the rules when possible.  I think we will find that a lot of what we want to say isn’t as important as we had originally thought.  Overwise, we will be making fools of ourselves, and for goodness sake, we will be making little redheads cry!

Have a thoughtful monday!

XO

Katelyn

One Response to ““A closed mouth gathers no feet””

  1. jennifer August 8, 2011 at 10:05 pm #

    Love the pictures! You guys were adorable! Love the post, if the world would follow these rules, it would be a much better place!

Leave a Reply

