Serenity

4 Aug

This has been on my heart lately.  I think most people have experience with a family member, friend, or loved one having an addiction.  They go to AA.  They pray the serenity prayer. What got me thinking was this: Why do we have to be at rock bottom, or have a serious addiction to qualify for the serenity prayer?  It is such an uplifting prayer, and it gives me hope that not all problems in my life rest on my shoulders.  I have not hit rock bottom in my life, and I do not have an addiction, but I do need the serenity prayer.

God grant me the serenity
to accept the things I cannot change;
courage to change the things I can;
and wisdom to know the difference.

I think this means something a little different to each person, but these are the words that stick out to me.

Accept. Accepting things that happen in our lives is hard when we think it should have gone another way.  We have to keep in mind that there is a plan and a bigger picture.  A picture that is so much larger than we are individually.  We are each important pieces, so we need to accept that plan, and adjust to be content with what we were made to be.

Change.  Mostly I hear the word change, and think that all it means is that something that you didn’t want to happen at all, has happened (courtesy of Youve Got Mail).  sometimes that is the case. Ok, MOST of the time, that is the case. We just have to adjust our plans to accommodate the change.  Accept change like an old friend, not a distant cousin that you really don’t like. 

Courage.  I am not courageous, and I am not brave.  but I can be. 

Wisdom.  We often associate wisdom with someone who has more wrinkles than spare change. My Gram: Wise. My son that just ran into the back of the chair: Not quite there yet. But in this case, wisdom is just knowing the difference between something that we can change, and something that we can’t.  Well, I think that is completely possible!  You can change your mind, but not your friends mind.  You can’t change someones addiction, but you can change how you react to it.  You can’t change whether someone has passed away, but you can change what you are going to learn from it. So read it again, and tell me, which words speak to you?

God grant me the serenity
to accept the things I cannot change;
courage to change the things I
can;and wisdom to know the difference.

XO

Katelyn

One Response to “Serenity”

  1. jennifer August 5, 2011 at 9:34 pm #

    I Love this one Katie! Great things we all should remember! I almost spit out my coffee at “my son ran into the back of a chair, not quite there yet” LMBO!

Leave a Reply

